Skip to main content

Sacraments / Faith Formation

The Seven Sacraments

The life of the Catholic Church revolves around the Eucharistic sacrifice and the sacraments. 

There are seven sacraments:

  1. Baptism
  2. Confirmation
  3. Eucharist
  4. Penance / Reconciliation
  5. Matrimony
  6. Holy Orders
  7. Anointing of the Sick

According to the Catechism of the Catholic Church, "The sacraments are efficacious signs of grace, instituted by Christ and entrusted to the Church, by which divine life is dispensed to us. The visible rites by which the sacraments are celebrated signify and make present the graces proper to each sacrament/ They bear fruit in those who receive them with the required dispositions" (CCC 1131).  The purpose of the sacraments is to make people holy, to build up the body of Christ. The sacraments impart grace, and the very act of celebrating them disposes the faithful most effectively to receive this grace in a fruitful manner, to worship God rightly, and to practice charity. 

To learn more about the seven sacraments, please follow the links above. 


Divine Office - Praying the Liturgy of the Hours

"The Liturgy of the Hours is intended to become the prayer of the whole People of God. In it Christ himself "continues his priestly work through his Church." His members participate according to their own place in the Church and the circumstances of their lives: priests devoted to the pastoral ministry, because they are called to remain diligent in prayer and the service of the word; religious, by the charism of their consecrated lives; all the faithful as much as possible: "Pastors of souls should see to it that the principal hours, especially Vespers, are celebrated in common in church on Sundays and on the more solemn feasts. The laity, too, are encouraged to recite the divine office, either with the priests, or among themselves, or even individually."" (CCC 1175)

You may find the Liturgy of the Hours for each day at